Staff Directory

Director's Office/Administration

James E. Faulds, Director and State Geologist, jfaulds@unr.edu, 775-682-6650

Rozena Brecke, Administrative Assistant, rbrecke@unr.edu, 775-682-8855

 

Great Basin Science Sample and Records Library

Thanksgiving and Winter Closures Notice 2021


Publication Sales and Information

nbmg@unr.edu, 775-682-8766
If you need an immediate response, please call.

Rachel Micander, Geologic Information Specialist, rmicander@unr.edu, 775-682-8767
Emily O'Dean, Geoscience Data Manager and GBSSRL Manager, eodean@unr.edu, 775-682-9780
Bret Pecoraro, Development Technician, pecoraro@unr.edu, 775-682-8775
Charlotte Stock, Sales Manager, cstock@unr.edu, 775-682-8766

 

Economic Geology, Geologic Mapping, and Geologic Framework

Mike Darin, Assistant Professor-Structural Geologist, mdarin@unr.edu, 775-682-8751
James E. Faulds
, Professor, jfaulds@unr.edu, 775-682-6650
Matthieu Harlaux, Assistant Professor-Economic Geologist, mharlaux@unr.edu, 775-682-8752
Christopher D. Henry, Research Geologist Emeritus, chenry@unr.edu, 775-682-8753
Carolina Muñoz-Saez, Assistant Professor-Economic Geologist, cmunozsaez@unr.edu, 775-682-7844
John Muntean, Associate Professor-Research Economic Geologist, munteanj@unr.edu,775-682-8748
Andrew Zuza, Assistant Professor-Structural Geologist, azuza@unr.edu, 775-784-1446

 

Geologic Hazards and Engineering Geology

Seth Dee, Geologic Mapping Specialist, sdee@unr.edu, 775-682-7704
Craig M. dePolo, Research Geologist, cdepolo@unr.edu, 775-682-8770
Rich Koehler, Associate Professor, rkoehler@unr.edu, 775-682-8763

 

Nevada Geodetic Laboratory

Geoffrey Blewitt, Research Professor, gblewitt@unr.edu, 775-682-8778
William C. Hammond, Research Professor, whammond@unr.edu, 775-784-6436
Corné W. Kreemer, Research Professor, kreemer@unr.edu, 775-682-8780

 

Great Basin Center for Geothermal Energy

Bridget Ayling, Associate Professor, bayling@unr.edu, 775-682-8768
Rozena Brecke, Administrative Assistant, rbrecke@unr.edu, 775-682-8855
Eli Mlawsky, GBCGE Geoscience Data Manager, emlawsky@unr.edu, 775-682-9010
Anieri Morales Rivera, Geothermal Research Scientist, amoralesrivera@unr.edu, 775-682-8149
Emmanuel Olvera, Postdoctoral Scholar, eolvera@unr.edu, 775-682-9011

 

Cartography, GIS, Web, and Publication Support

Jennifer Vlcan, Cartographic/GIS Manager, mauldin@unr.edu, 775-682-8759
Christina Clack, Graphic Designer, cclack@unr.edu, 775-682-6346
Irene Edgerton, Cartographer/GIS Specialist, iseelye@unr.edu, 775-682-6338
Rachel Micander, Analyst - GIS and Cartography, rmicander@unr.edu, 775-682-6351

 

Graduate Students

Advised by Bridget Ayling
Kurt Kraal, Graduate Student, MS, kokraal@nevada.unr.edu
Nicole Wagoner, Graduate Student, PhD

Advised by Michael Darin
Iza Ogilvie, Graduate Student, iogilvie@nevada.unr.edu

Advised by Jim Faulds
Noah Williams, Graduate Student, newilliams@nevada.unr.edu

Advised by Bill Hammond
Justine Overacker, Graduate Student, PhD, justine.overacker@gmail.com
Aren Crandall-Bear, Graduate Student, PhD, arencrandallbear@gmail.com

Advised by Corné Kreemer
Zachary Young, Graduate Student, PhD, zyoung@nevada.unr.edu
Nina Miller, Graduate Student, PhD, ninamiller20@gmail.com

Advised by John Muntean
Nick Hillemeyer, Graduate Student, MS, nhillemeyer@email.arizona.edu
Sara Castro Holden, Graduate Student
Daniel Chafetz, Graduate Student
Elizabeth Hollingsworth, Graduate Student, PhD, hollingsworther@gmail.com
Alexander Holmwood, Graduate Student, MS
Sean Ingersoll, Graduate Student, MS
Neil Mankins, Graduate Student
Grant McKnight, Graduate Student, MS
Steven O'Connell, Graduate Student
Atticus Proctor, Graduate Student, MS
Sarah Shapley, Graduate Student, MS
Christian Thomas, Graduate Student, MS

Advised by Andrew Zuza
Wes Johns, Graduate Student, MS, wjohns@nevada.unr.edu
Drew Levy, Graduate Student, PhD, drewlevy@nevada.unr.edu
Dominik Vlaha, Graduate Student, MS, dvlaha@nevada.unr.edu

 

Adjunct and Emeritus Faculty

Adjunct Faculty:
Mark Coolbaugh, Adjunct Research Assistant Professor, mfc@unr.edu, 775-337-1545

Emeritus Faculty:
John W. Bell, Professor Emeritus, jbell@unr.edu
Stephen B. Castor
, Research Geologist Emeritus, scastor@unr.edu, 775-682-8766
Larry J. Garside, Research Geologist Emeritus, lgarside@unr.edu, 775-784-6693
Liang-Chi Hsu, Research Mineralogist Emeritus, lihsu@unr.edu
Daphne D. LaPointe, Research Geologist Emeritus, dlapoint@unr.edu, 775-682-8772
Paul Lechler, Chief Geochemist Emeritus, plechler@unr.edu
Jonathan G. Price, State Geologist Emeritus, jprice@unr.edu, 775-682-8766
Alan R. Ramelli, Research Geologist Emeritus, ramelli@unr.edu
Lisa Shevenell, Research Hydrogeologist Emeritus, lisaas@unr.edu
Joseph V. Tingley, Research Geologist Emeritus, jtingley@unr.edu

 

October 2021

Thanksgiving and Winter Closures Notice 2021


NBMG Publication Sales and Information Office
2175 Raggio Parkway, Reno, NV 89512

Our NBMG public office will be closed to walk-in visitors for two separate weeks in November and December.

Closed November 22–26, 2021 (Thanksgiving Closure)
Closed December 24–31, 2021 (Winter Closure)

No orders will be filled during these time periods. Please see deadlines below to give us time to fill orders before the two separate weeks that we are closed.

Order by Wednesday, November 17 to have items mailed before the Thanksgiving closure.

Order by Friday, December 17 to have items mailed before the Winter closure.

Please place orders here:
http://pubs.nbmg.unr.edu/
or call 775-682-8766.

If you need to view air photos or core and cuttings, please contact Rachel Micander for an appointment at least one full week in advance of the closures:
rmicander@unr.edu
775-682-8767 (Wednesdays and Fridays, 8–3)

In addition to the two closures listed above, Rachel will also be unavailable for appointments the week of January 4–7, 2022.

The NBMG Public email (nbmg@unr.edu) will not be monitored during the closures.

If you need to visit the Geological Society of Nevada office during the closure, please contact Laura Ruud:
gsn@gsnv.org
775-323-3500

Many NBMG publications are available for viewing/downloading on our website:
http://www.nbmg.unr.edu
http://pubs.nbmg.unr.edu
https://data-nbmg.opendata.arcgis.com/
http://www.nbmg.unr.edu/Maps&Data/index.html

You can view/download topographic maps for free on these pages:
USGS
https://store.usgs.gov/maps
https://ngmdb.usgs.gov/topoview/

We will be open our normal hours again beginning on Tuesday, January 4, 2022.
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Our office is also closed on all State of Nevada holidays:
http://hr.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/hrnvgov/Content/About/State%20Holidays.pdf